Link to the University of Waterloo home page Advanced Search or
The Undergraduate Calendar

General Information

Systems of Study

Systems of Study
Printable Version Printable Version

The University offers students two different systems of study: the regular system and the co-operative (co-op)system. Academic programs and/or plans may be offered under one system only, or under either system. Refer to each Faculty section of the Calendar for additional information.

To facilitate both systems of study, the University has three academic terms per year: Fall (September - December), Winter (January - April), and Spring (May - August).

Regular System

Under the regular system, the student normally follows the conventional eight-month academic year (two consecutive terms) from September to April.

Co-operative (Co-op) System

Students studying in the co-op system alternate their on-campus academic terms with off-campus work terms in business, industry, or government. Further information about the co-op system is provided in Co-operative Education & Career Action.

Courses are normally four months in duration regardless of the system of study.


Office of the Registrar
University of Waterloo
2nd Floor, Needles Hall
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada N2L 3G1
519 888 4567

contact us | UWaterloo home | privacy | powered by InterGlobal Solutions